?

Log in

No account? Create an account
 
 
19 June 2015 @ 11:41 am
Housing/roommate search in NYC!  
Hey guys! So, I am moving to New York for grad school this fall, and I'm starting to search for housing and fannish roommates. My preference would be to find a room in an existing housing situation, since my program is only for a year and I don't know if I'll be staying in the area after that, but of course, I'm also open to finding fannish roommates and then looking for a place together.

About me: Hi, my name is Deepa! I'm a 26-year-old Indian-American queer cis woman, and I'm going to be attending a environmental studies Master's program at Columbia University this fall. I'm currently single, I don't smoke or have any pets; I drink moderately, but mostly with small groups of friends. I'm an introvert who loves to have close friends around, and I'm lucky enough to have a number of friends already living in the area who will probably visit, but I'm not going to have any big parties or anything. I cook regularly, so I'd be using the kitchen a lot, but I'm fairly neat and prefer my living conditions to be clean (I'm okay with clutter, but I'm not big on actually dirty surroundings). If there are any relevant questions that you have about me, feel free to ask!

Here are the ideal conditions for where I want to live:

Location: definitely Manhattan; preferably Morningside Heights, West Harlem, Hamilton Heights, or Washington Heights, close-ish to Columbia University

Lease length: for not more than a year, ideally starting September 1st, 2015 (but I could possibly start in August if that’s all that’s available)

Rent: for now my range is $800 to $1100, but I'm still trying to get a sense of the typical range in New York, that might be negotiable (also depending on what kinds of loans I end up getting, which I should hopefully find out soon).

Other conditions: I'd prefer roommates who don't smoke, mostly because the smell of tobacco and marijuana both make me feel kind of sick, and ideally I'd like to not live with any big pets, though that's negotiable.

That's pretty much all I can think of at the moment! My email is fiercynn[at]gmail[dot]com, please contact me if you or anyone else you know might be interested in living with me! Feel free to spread this around - a rebloggable Tumblr post and a RT-able tweet as well. Thanks!

This entry was originally posted at http://fiercynn.dreamwidth.org/92681.html. comment count unavailable have commented there; I would prefer you comment there, but if you don't want to, feel free to comment here instead.
 
 
 
09 f9 11 02 9d 74 e3 5b d8 41 56 c5 63 56 88 c0laura47 on June 20th, 2015 04:52 pm (UTC)
wooo NYC! i'm responding from a hotel in Chelsea. :) my family is on long island and i visit often.

PS come to vividcon :)